CT Scan/Doctor Results from Today…

October 5, 2012

I’m writing about what happened with my doctor today, because it is easier for me than talking. It’s a pretty miserable conversation at this point anyway. I’ll just get into it and say the news wasn’t what I wanted to hear. Just writing those few lines right there makes me want to stop doing this. This is just very uncomfortable to talk about. Not talking about it won’t make it go away though, I guess. So what does it matter. Whatever is going to happen is going to happen at this point. So here goes…

Let’s get it out there, I am scared. There is no getting around that at all at this point. I was scared going into my doctor’s appointment today, but was a lot more scared after I left. Going in you think you are going to be given an answer, something that explains why everything is happening. Instead he told me that I didn’t have kidney stones(which is what I was hoping it WOULD be) and that I now need to have another, more invasive test. He is going to test for Bladder cancer in that test and if he sees what he believes to be cancer he will take a biopsy. I looked up the symptoms for Bladder cancer immediately after I left the office, and I have most of them now. That doesn’t necessarily mean anything I guess(or I am trying to tell myself that-though I don’t believe it), but it doesn’t make me feel any more at ease now. To be honest, I have a really really bad feeling.

So, I DO NOT have kidney stones. The doctor told me the results of the CT Scan showed no kidney stones, but did show a thickening of the Bladder wall. The doctor looked at my urine again under a microscope today in his office and concurred he saw blood(I see it every day still). When I had the CT Scan I also had what the doctor referred to as a Fish Test or a DNA test. He told me today that it is testing for cancer cells and that if it comes back positive then, well, you have cancer cells in your bladder. Do the math on that one yourself. Regardless of how that test comes back I have to have another, very invasive test, that I will be put out for. I do not know when I will be having it, but I would imagine it will be soon.

I cannot believe this is all happening now, but IT IS. It really is. What can I say? That’s life. Maybe there is another reason I was losing all this weight so fast after all. Who knows anymore… Maybe this is all still nothing… Who knows…

That is the gist of it though. No kidney stones. Cancer cell results hopefully Tuesday, and then schedule the other tests. I am off to New York to see my family tonight, and then back to resume all this in around a week.

This entry was posted in anxiety, Gastric Bypass, Health, Health and Weight, Surgery, Weight Loss and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to CT Scan/Doctor Results from Today…

  1. eyzrgreen9 says:

    Hi Keith,
    So sorry for your very disturbing news. I sure hope your next tests show that whatever the problem is, it can be cured! Hang in there. Worrying is not going to make it “go away”, you know this…(easy for me to say, right, I’m not living your problem). Take care and enjoy your family.

  2. melanie says:

    Scaring yourself by looking up symptoms on line is not going to help- I know this FIRST HAND. I know this must be so hard for you. Know that I am always thinking of you and will be here for you no matter what the news is. I know waiting is the worst but please try to understand scaring yourself in to the worst is just going to make it worse. Soon you will be in NY with your family and we will hang and have a great time!! Can’t wait to see you. Love you always.

  3. Mirray says:

    I don’t know what to say, and if it makes a difference, but I absolutely understand your frustration to say the least. I have had a pain in my side along with diarrhea for almost 3 months now. I’ve been hospitalized fir malnutrition, dehydration and i.v. antiobiotics….they even had me on isolation because they thought what I had was highly contagious. I’ve had 3 GI’s, a CT and a colonoscopy, not to mention countless blood tests. The results = nothing found. I’m nit fucking crazy, there is pain and I have no answer for it!!! Their best guess deduction, stress, depression and anxiety causing physical manifications.WTF?!?!?!?

    I feel relief in your answer because it’s an answer, and next step is solution XYZ……me, who the fuck knows!! Now I have a bariatric doctor, GI doctor, therapist, general practitioner amd looking fir a psychiatrist to “try” and give me the right meds to balance me out. They dom’t knoe am exact cause so it will be a hit and miss with meds. I k ow that your diagnosid is just that, a diagnosis that will come with a course if action for resolution. Mine feels like everyone is giving me the shrugging shoulders and “let’s try this and see if it works” resolution.

    This is not a competition but what I am saying to you is, be prepared for whatever they say and whatever the resolution is because there is one. Stay strong my brother, we are all here for you, and you will come out of this just fine. Silver lining, even if it is the reason for the rapid weight loss, take it baby!!!!! (Small lining I know. But it’s something……) lol

    God Bless You and may everything work out easily and according to His plan. ❤

    • Sorry I somehow just saw this Mirray. Thanks. Hope to be back soon to find out what this all is. Stayed up tonight reading all types of good stuff lol Real smart of me. Oh well, right 🙂 Hope you are well and though and see you soon!

Leave a Reply

