Coming Up On 1 Year Since Surgery…

November 4, 2012

I am one week short of the one year anniversary of my gastric bypass surgery and so far have lost almost 228lbs.

My birthday was 2 days ago, and after the week I had, I felt it was necessary to get out and celebrate another year. So I did. I am not sure why, but my birthday is the one day a year I really make it a habit of being around some friends or family. Some people hate their birthday, but not me. And so a few friends of mine came out, and we all drank and had some fun catching up. It was a much-needed good time.

November 2, 2012

November 2, 2012

Not to harp on the negative, but a week ago I really didn’t know how this week would wind up. And today, the blood to the naked eye has finally stopped, and so has the pain I was having after the cystoscopy. Everything is positive and moving forward.

In a week, on November 10th, it will be exactly a year since my surgery. This week I happen to come upon a photo of a weigh in from my doctor’s office on November 3, 2012. This was at a time that I was at my highest weight ever. Last November 3rd I weighted almost 493lbs. And here is that photo…

November 3, 2011

And yesterday, the one year anniversary of the day that photo was taken, I weighed in again. And here is where I stand today…

November 3, 2012

That is almost 228 total pounds lost in less than a year. I am kind of upset that these past two month I did not lose what I wanted to. I was preoccupied with what was going on with my health, and didn’t so what I should have done to lose that weight. I still ate well, and didn’t gain anything, but now that my prognosis is good I am going to try to get 20 more pounds off.

I shot some hoops today with a friend and it was good to get some exercise in. This is going to be a great week leading up to my one year mark. I never go back and read anything I write here, but it would be interesting to see how far I’ve come from before surgery, when I was scared shit to go through with this. This is still the best thing I ever did for myself.

Football just came on so I am going to end this for now, and go watch some of the game. I really wanted to get that old photo up while I still remembered. I don’t know what the word is, but it is crazy to see that photo of the scale reading 492.4 and know that was me not even 1 year ago. It’s crazy to fathom that now, but at the same time pretty incredible the transformation that has happened with my mind and body. I am very happy and grateful to be healthier now. And to have all that weight off of me. It is almost unimaginable that I let that happen, but, no doubt I did. I got up to 493 friggin pounds! But the same person that let that weight accumulate was finally able to get some control and right the ship and get that weight off(with the help and miracle of gastric bypass surgery). And it feels good to know I did that for myself. That I finally did something positive for myself. For a change.

More to come this week. Thanks.

This entry was posted in Gastric Bypass, Health, Health and Weight, Surgery, Uncategorized, Weight Loss and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Coming Up On 1 Year Since Surgery…

  1. Melanie says:

    I’m so proud of you. ❤

  2. obeasta says:

    WOW! this is amazing! i am so glad i found your blog. what an inspiration you are to me. i am currently at the start of this journey. i am about 300 pounds currently. long way ahead…

Leave a Reply

